My 50th Year – 50 and Glad

Standard

Today I am 50 and what a year I have had so many things have happened and the word that came to mind was glad.

In October 2015 as you will know from my earlier blogs I needed a change, a fresh challenge, I was bored and about to experience an empty nest.

I am glad that this time last year I met Daphne a life coach who helped me become unstuck in what the next part of life looked like for me, who helped me understand how my life was changing from being a player in my growing family to a supporter, who helped me understand what I needed to do to feel valued. I am glad that I was able to put into practice what she suggested.

I am glad she suggested I borrow Crumpet the dog who has become part of my life.

I am glad I got to start the year as Mother of the Bride [MOTB] for my beautiful Georgia, she has thoroughly enjoyed her first 10 months of marriage, she is a lovely little homemaker and much to her horror she is gradually turning into me.

I am glad I got a job with CAP, I am glad I am part of their team. I am glad that I got to be part of the CAP London Fund raising dinner on Saturday where we saw over £700K raised to help those in need. I am glad I love my job.

I am glad Matt became Head of Tax for Deloitte or “HOT” as he is known in our home. He is thoroughly enjoying his new role, it is busy for him and challenging but this role came at such the right time for him and our family. I am glad I get to be his corporate wife.

I am glad I have got more used to an empty nest, even though I still miss Adam and I am glad he lives just round the corner from me, but don’t worry he calls me everyday, when he comes home he still makes a mess and eats my chocolate. Having an empty nest is still a little odd, I have now got used to mostly being in the house by myself. I don’t enjoy coming back late at night when Matt is away and still check every room when I get home. I did have a moment when I thought if I didn’t get home when Matt is away no one would know. I have found I have filled the evenings I need to fill, by going out with my friends, writing my blog, calling my friends, having dinner with Adam, catching up on TV that Matt doesn’t want to watch, working and my new favourite thing babysitting Isabel.

I am glad that Luke became a Dad and that he is thoroughly enjoying his new little daughter Isabel Poppy. She brings such joy to him and it is a delight to watch.

I am glad I get to go the gym most weekdays even though I have had accusations from the gym team that all I do is chat and not much working out. Gareth my personal trainer knows I work hard. I find a little exercise everyday is all you need to keep you well in your mind and body. I am glad I can have regular massages, obviously this is a medical need.

I am glad that I have travelled more this year than ever before. I have so far been on 10 flights and numerous times on the train to Bradford to CAP’s HQ. I have seen so many new places and experienced new cultures, which has been exciting. From Miami, to Turks and Caicos, to Barcelona, to Hong Kong, to Tokyo, to New Orleans, to Majorca, to Austria to the Netherlands and to LA. All the travelling has added into my schedule often working until I am about to leave for the airport, some of you may say welcome to a normal world, but my normal was not to have to work. I am glad I managed to get to November before using all my annual leave, which I am very proud of.

I am glad I have managed to maintain my social life still managing to see my friends, still managing to fit in lunches and coffee’s. I am very glad to have people in my life who make my world more fun and make me feel part of a community.

I am glad I stopped running Alpha earlier in the year, finding I couldn’t do everything. I don’t miss the work and preparation it required, but I do miss the people I got to meet every week and the conversations we got to have.

I am glad to have been able to continue to learn French and thanks to Solene and Lola I have moved forward and made progress. Solene did ask me if I had dyslexia I said I have never been tested for it, but now I think I have got it and should have had extra help at school. Thank goodness it has not stopped me in my tracks and caused me to be hindered too much.

I am glad Isabel Poppy became my grand daughter; she has brought so much more joy and love in my life. She is happy, loves people, loves her bath, is very chilled and relaxed and sleeps so well something her Father never did. I just love her and I love being her Granny.

I am glad I can still volunteer at ChristchurchLondon helping run our central service. Every Sunday I not only get to meet lots of lovely people, but I get to serve with a fantastic, hard working group of volunteers who want to make a difference in London, give people the opportunity to explore faith and do good in the city.

I am glad that this year I have learnt more about my self, how I tick, what ticks my box and more about my gifts and talents and how I can use them. That it is ok for things not to be perfect and that I am a working progress.

I am glad that I have my faith knowing God knows the bigger picture and as I trust him, he brings things round for my good. Is life perfect? Of course not, but it’s my life and I want to live it well or as a quote I heard whilst in LA a few weeks ago “Overdose on Life”

Who knows what my 51st year will bring, but today I am glad to be 50 I feel happy and content and I feel like I am living the dream. I am glad this year has been full of fun and much joy which I do not take for granted, after many years of dealing with a sick child a year like this is very precious.

Leave a comment